General Information

In September 1988, the First International Conference on Asian Marine Geology (ICAMG) was held in Shanghai, China. Since then, the conference has been held almost every four years. The 2nd ICAMG was in Tokyo in 1992; the 3rd in Cheju, Korea in 1996; the 4th in Qingdao, China in 1999; the 5th in Bangkok, Thailand in 2004; the 6th in Kochi, Japan in 2008; the 7th in Goa, India in 2011, and the 8th in Busan, Korea in 2015. These conferences have given researchers good opportunities to exchange ideas and new information and to plan for future collaboration. The 9th ICAMG will be held in October 10-12, 2018 again in Shanghai. You are kindly invited to join this event to review the progress of Asian marine geology over the past 30 years, to exchange ideas on new frontier research, and to discuss the perspectives of future development of marine geology.


Previous conferences:

8th   October 2015, Cheju, Korea
7th   October 2011, Goa, India
6th    August 2008, Kochi, Japan
5th    January 2004, Bangkok, Thailand
4th    October 1999, Qingdao, China
3rd    October 1995, Cheju, Korea
2nd   August 1992,Kyoto, Japan
1st    September 1988, Shanghai, China


Plenary and Keynote Speeches:

Brian Taylor (University of Hawai'i at Manoa, U.S.A)

Dean, School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology, University of Hawaii at Manoa

Speech title: The evolution of the Philippine Sea Plate and the origin of proto-arc basalt by seafloor spreading

Thomas S. Bianchi (University of Florida, U.S.A)

Professor in organic geochemistry and marine biogeochemistry. Editor-in Chief of Marine Chemistry, Fellow of the AAAS, Geochemical Society, and European Association of Geochemistry.

Speech title: The Role of Aquatic Critical Zones in Coastal Carbon Cycling 




Asahiko Taira (Japan Agency for Marine- Earth Science & Technology, Japan)

Professor in marine geology and geophysics. President of JAMSTEC, fellow of the GSA and Japan Geoscience Union, winner of Japan Academy Prize.

Speech title: Scientific and engineering achievements of the D/V Chikyu - Core-Log-Seismic-Observatory Integration 

Eelco J. Rohling (Australian National University, Australia)

Professor in oceans and climate change; 2012 Australian Laureate Fellow, associate Director (research), editor of Reviews of Geophysics.

Speech title: A Last Interglacial perspective on future rates of sea-level rise


Kyung Sik WOO (Kangwon National University, Korea)

Professor in geology, geochemistry and paleoclimatology. He is the Chair of IUCN WCPA Geoheritage Specialist Group and the Past President of International Union of Speleology.


Speech title: The Role of Marine Geology in Geoheritage Conservation

Zhifei Liu (Tongji University, China)

Professor in marine sedimentology and paleoenvironmental change. Changjiang (Cheung Kong) distinguished professor.

Speech title: Long-term in situ observations of deep-sea sedimentary dynamic processes



International Committee:


Pinxian Wang (Tongji University, China)

Asahiko Taira (Japan Agency for Marine- Earth Science & Technology, Japan)

Yong Ahn Park (Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf, United Nations)


Zhimin Jian (Tongji University, China)

Jiabiao Li (Second Institute of Oceanography, State Oceanic Administration, China)

Yoshiki Saito (Shimane University, Japan)

Shin’ichi Kuromoto (Japan Agency for Marine- Earth Science & Technology, Japan)

Young Joo Lee (Korea Institute of Geoscience & Mineral Resources, Korea)

Hee Jun Lee (Korea Institute of Ocean Science & Technology, Korea)

V. Ramaswamy (National Institute of Oceanography, India)

Dhananjai Kumar Pandey (National Center for Antarctic and Ocean Research, India)

Do Huy Cuong (Institute of Marine Geology and Geophysics, VAS, Vietnam)

Thanawat Jarupongsakul (Chulalongkorn University, Thailand)

Fernando P. Siringan (University of the Philippines, Philippines)

V.R. Vijayan (Minerals and Geosciences Department Malaysia, Malaysia)

Sergey A. Gorbarenko (V.I. Il’ichev Pacific Oceanological Institute, Far-Eastern Branch of Russian Academy of Science, Russia)

Ediar Usman (Research & Development Center for Marine Geology, Ministry of Mining and Energy, Indonesia)

Organizing Committee:


Shouye Yang (Tongji University)

Vice chair: 

Shu Gao (East China Normal University/Nanjing University)

Xuefa Shi (The First Institute of Oceanography, State Oceanic Administration)


Nengyou Wu (Qingdao Institute of Marine Geology)

Jian Lin (South China Sea Institute of Oceanology, Chinese Academy of Sciences)

Jingping Xu (Southern University of Science and Technology)

Xinong Xie (China University of Geosciences-Wuhan)

Houjie Wang (Ocean University of China)

Weidong Sun (The Institute of Oceanology, Chinese Academy of Sciences)

Shiguo Wu (Institute of Deep-sea Science and Engineering, Chinese Academy of Sciences)

James T Liu (National Sun Yat-sen University)

Yongqiang Zong (University of Hong Kong)


Jiubing Cheng (Coordinator, Finance)    Tel: 86-21-6598 4714    Email:

Hao Cheng (Scientific program, Invited talks and Awards)    Tel: 86-21-6598 1305    Email:

Jin Zhang (Exhibition and Sponsorship, Field excursions)    Tel: 86-21-6598 5090    Email:

Xixi Shen (Registration)    Tel: 86-21-6598 1816    Email:

Jianru Li (Logistic support)    Tel: 86-21-6598 2588    Email: 

Tingyu Wen Tel: 86-21-6598 5022    Email:


The ICAMG-9 will be held in Yifu Building, 129 Hall and Sino-French Center, Siping Campus of Tongji University in Shanghai. This map may be helpful to you to get to the meeting venue.



Contact Us

Copy Rights Reserved by Tongji university